Use one of the following options to find your doctor at Cabrini

Looking for a physiotherapist or other professional? See Allied Health

Standards of Care

Cabrini has a program to improve standards of care. It is focussed on improving and standardising our practice. Cabrini’s standards of care are integrated with the compliance requirements outlined in the National Safety and Quality Healthcare Standards published by the Australian Safety and Quality Healthcare Commission.

The Cabrini standards of care include;

  • Assessment
  • Nutrition
  • Continence
  • Cognition

These standards work together with the National Standards to optimise patient safety, minimise a patient’s loss of strength and ability in hospital and reduce the risk of adverse events while receiving care.

National standards

Cabrini is a member of the Australian Council of Health Care Standards (ACHS) which is responsible for assessing the organisation for accreditation. All Cabrini sites (except Cabrini Residential Aged Care in Ashwood) are assessed against the ten National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (NSQHS Standards) by ACHS.

Summary of the 10 National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (NSQHS Standards):


Standard 1

Governance for safety and quality in health service organisations

How organisations know they are delivering safe and high quality services

Staff are supported and have the skills to provide patient care

Care delivery is evaluated and improved when required

Standard 2

Partnering with consumers

Promoting a culture of patient centred care

Encouraging patients and families to be involved in their care planning and decisions about their treatment

Supporting consumer feedback

Standard 3

Preventing and controlling healthcare associated infections

Involve staff, patients and families in reducing the spread of infections

Rigorous practice and monitoring of hand hygiene, cleaning practices, immunisation and aseptic techniques

Standard 4

Medication safety

Following the right process when administering medication

Minimising and monitoring medication errors to reduce risk to patients

Standard 5

Patient identification and procedure matching

Correct identification of patients to ensure appropriate and safe care is provided

Minimising and monitoring patient identification and mismatching errors

Standard 6

Clinical handover

Application of handover principles throughout different settings in the hospital

Structured transfer of accountability between care providers

Standard 7

Blood and blood products

Safe and effective use of blood and blood products

Appropriate identification, monitoring and consent for the administration of blood products

Standard 8

Pressure injuries prevention and management

Maintaining and/or identifying patient’s skin integrity

Monitoring and reducing harm associated with pressure injuries

Standard 9

Recognising and responding to clinical deterioration

Recognition, response and escalation of abnormal patient observations

Support of junior staff in escalating concerns regarding patient deterioration

Standard 10

Preventing falls and harm from falls

Assessment and management plans are in place to prevent falls and harm from falls

Correct processes are in place to monitor falls and preventative action is taken


For more information about the NSQHS Standards or quality and risk management in health services please visit and