Cabrini Emergency Department recognised in Emergency Nursing awards

Date: 15/10/2018

Cabrini’s Alan, Ada and Eva Selwyn Emergency Department received a Certificate of Special Recognition in the International Conference for Emergency Nursing 2018 Australasian Emergency Department of the Year awards.

The awards showcase the work and research of the top Emergency Departments in Australasia.

Cabrini Emergency Department Nurse Unit Manager Deanne Robinson said the award was recognition of the great work Cabrini was doing in nursing and emergency medicine.

“This is fantastic recognition for our staff and the incredible work they do,” Ms Robinson said.

“It demonstrates the quality of our work to the broader community. Awards like this also help us to attract and retain the best staff.”

Ms Robinson said the award demonstrated to the broader community the quality of work being carried out in Cabrini’s Emergency Department, which is among the best of the best.

“Despite narrowly missing out on first place, it proves that we are one of the best hospitals in emergency medicine in Australasia,” she said.

“Hopefully we will be able to build on this work so that we can take out first place next year.”

Ms Robinson said the award was a testament to staff.

“Our compassionate and caring approach to patients in our emergency department is what sets us apart from the rest,” she said.

‘This is the first year we have nominated for the awards and it is fantastic to be able to demonstrate some of the incredible work and research we are doing.

Six Cabrini nurses accepted the award on behalf of the emergency department on the evening.